Sonntag, 30. Mai 2010
4 questions 4 peace
FABIAN SOMMER Birth Date August 20, 1993
Akademisches Gymnasium Wien
Participant of peacecamp 2010
1. Imagine- what does the word peace mean to you?

For me, the word “peace” is a very abstract term. Ideally it would mean that everyone would get along with each other without fighting and that there is no more war. In our private lives, it means getting along with others and accepting them for who they are.

2. Imagine- what are the main obstacles to peace in out would?

In my opinion, intolerance and poverty are large obstacles to peace. Poverty prevents peace because people with little to lose and a lot to gain are more likely to fight. Intolerance is an obstacle, because if you cannot accept someone else for who they are, you are more likely to denounce them and fight them.

3. Imagine- what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?

While I do not believe that war is a big problem for Austria, I think that differences in race and religion cause problems here. That it why, in my everyday life, I try to be tolerant of other cultures and religions. On top of that, I try to get others to be more tolerant too.

4. Imagine- What can you do in the future to promote peace in your country?

I think that, to promote peace in Austria I could work towards the equality of all peoples, no matter where they come from or what their religion is.

... comment