Montag, 31. Mai 2010
4 questions4peace

Helga Csarnó, Birth Date: _

Your school_______Zsent Laszlo_____________
Participant of peacecamp 2010:
1. Imagine - what does the word peace mean to you?

It might sound weird, but i think the expression "world peace" actually suggests the lack of it. Hearing of war and hundreds of casualities became the part of our daily lives. Maybe word peace isn’t reachable… but it seems like we don’t even give a try.

2. Imagine - what are the main obstacles to peace in our world?

Cultural and material differences between people grew to big in the last decade, and those who need help can’t connect those who could give aid. I think most of us thinks about these problems, I personally have always felt a kind of twinge of conscience because I have everything I need. Maybe if everyone who has ever felt this way would do something and this whole passive way of thinking would change then our world would be a more peaceful place.

3. Imagine - what have you done so far to promote peace in your own country?

Well, I have always been very interested in knowing other cultures. I partecipated many student exchanges (with the Netherlands and many times with italian students – i go to the italian faculty of my school) and I can honestly say that these weeks were the best experiences of my life. It sounds crazy, but prejudices don’t disappear until you feel it on your own skin, how much people from a whole different culture are just the same weird teenagers. (: So I’m really interested in the issue and would be glad to learn more about it.

4. Imagine - what can you do in the future to promote peace in your own country?

I think there’s no such a demonstation or no national program that would change a whole country’s way of thinking. It just can’t be changed from one day to another. By now I recognized the it’s not me who will save our planet, because there’s no such a person. Maybe thinking in another way is the only thing I can do, maybe I will have to talk about this issues with other ones and make their thoughts change. I don’t know already what I’ll can to do for peace, but I’m quite sure I will do it.

... comment